Saturday TV: College Football, U.S. Open Tennis, The Night Of Encore & More

News & Notes

NCAA FootballTonight, CBS has the A Football Life: Brett Favre special.

Over on cable, CMT has the CMT Concert of the Summer: Jason Aldean & Friends Live at LakeShake special and Lifetime has the TV movie premiere of Backstabbed.

Watch the Geeking Out MS Marathon today. Our friends over at Golden Spiral Media (@GSMPodcasts) are hosting a charity podcast marathon to raise money for the National MS Society and I will be participating today, talking about season two of Killjoys at about 2:00pm PT/4:00pm CT/5:00pm ET, and tomorrow, talking new fall TV shows at about 1:00pm PT/3:00pm CT/4:00pm ET.

Prime Picks

The Night Of (HBO2): Repeat. This past Sunday night’s first season finale episode, “The Call of the Wild,” replays. Starts 20 minutes before the hour and runs 95 minutes. Plays again later in late night on HBO.

Diners, Drive-Ins & Dives (Food Network): Repeat. Guy checks out some “Chew and Brew.” Runs 30 minutes. Plays again later.
Diners, Drive-Ins & Dives (Food Network): Repeat. Guy goes “From Atlantic to Pacific.” Runs 30 minutes. Plays again later.

Diners, Drive-Ins & Dives (Food Network): Repeat. Guy tries some “Global Greats.” Runs 30 minutes. Plays again later.
Diners, Drive-Ins & Dives (Food Network): Repeat. Guy goes “Roadtrippin'” tonight. Runs 30 minutes. Plays again later.

Sports Notes

  • ABC doubleheader college football action today and then later has Saturday Night College Football with USC vs. Alabama from AT&T Stadium in Arlington, TX.
  • CBS has college football action today with UCLA at Texas A&M.
  • CBS Sports has quadruple-header college football action with Northern Illinois at Wyoming closing out the night.
  • ESPN has three college football games today with Clemson at Auburn closing out the night.
  • ESPN2 has third round coverage of the U.S. Open tennis tournament.
  • ESPNews has college football action today with Eastern Kentucky at Purdue.
  • ESPNU has three college football games today with Southern Mississippi at Kentucky closing out the night.
  • FS1 has college football action today with Missouri at West Virginia followed by doubleheader MLB action today and then later closes the night out with more college football action with BYU vs. Arizona from University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, AZ.
  • MLB Network has a game today and another tonight.

Late Night

  • Saturday Night Live (NBC): Repeat. Ryan Gosling hosted with musical guest Leon Bridges.

Saturday TV Marathons

Diners, Drive-Ins & Dives (Food Network): Has 12 episodes tonight.
Good Times (TV One): Has 20 episodes.
Law & Order (WEtv): Eight episodes tonight and into late night.
Law & Order: Special Victims Unit (ION): Has 16 episodes.
Reba (TV Land): Has 18 episodes.
Star Trek: The Next Generation (BBC America): Five episodes today that replay in late night.
Will & Grace (WEtv): Has 14 episodes today.

Meet the Author

Jason the TVaholic
0 comments… add one

Leave a Comment